Please insert a disk into Removable Disk

The other day I was trying to install Windows 8.1 with Microsoft’s Media Creation Tool, and the install failed on my new 64GB flash drive. After that, no matter what version of Windows I tried to use the drive on, I kept getting these errors indicating the drive wasn’t getting recognized. Note: In this scenario, I am using a drive that has no data on it. If you have a drive that does have data, you’ll want to try a different troubleshooting method as this will wipe any data from it.

Windows was unable to complete the format

When you see that the drive is not recognized, and you try to format it, I got the “Windows was unable to complete the format” error.

Fix Your USB Flash Drive

To fix the drive right-click This PC in Windows 8.x or 10, or the Computer icon in Windows 7 and select Manage.

That opens up the built-in Computer Management utility. From the right pane go to Storage > Disk Management and in the center section find your flash drive (you should be able to find it by its size – and the fact Windows recognizes it as Unallocated space.) Right-click on it and select New Simple Volume.

The New Simple Volume Wizard will start – just work your way through it following the on-screen instructions. It’s a transparent process, and you can keep the default settings, but when you get to the screen shown below, you might want to give the drive a particular name.

When done working through the wizard, click Finish and wait a few moments.

You should then see that your drive has been formatted and is now correctly recognized by Windows.

Then it will also appear in Computer or This PC as a drive that’s ready to use.

If this doesn’t work, you might need to try something else, but a lot of times I have found this overlooked trick usually works. What is your take? Has this fixed your flash drives, SD cards, or traditional spinning hard drives? Leave a comment below and tell us if it worked, and if not, what did work for you. Gratz your files are safeguarded by physics. file:///C:/Users/peter/Desktop/Capture.JPG ANYWAY… My PC is not able to format any of my USB drives… I don’t know why… yesterday everyting was OK, an now… This post is good but I cannot find the actions on my RAW formatted USB and I cannot edit meny of them. the only solutions I found are:

  1. Format using Gparted on my Linux PC or using Gparted bootable CD
  2. Format using Partition Guru. But the problem is that I cannot fix this issue IN Windows. I tried to format using CMD too but I didn’t succeed. It’s a very serious issue because I use Yumi and Rufus to build bootable USB and now I cannot do this anymore because they cannot format and then add items to my usb drives. Linux has similar tools but many of them can be added on Windows only. Has anyone come up with an answer for if ‘new simple volume; did not appear? THANKS BROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO…………… and not any more. it’s better you help me forfix this problem with mac and windows 7.
  3. go to start or search
  4. type”cmd”
  5. type”diskpart” in the new window that opens, type these:
  6. type “list disk”
  7. type “select disk 1” (replace 1 with your disk. To find it, check the size)
  8. type “clean”
  9. type “create partition primary”
  10. type “format fs=NTFS” Wait a while aaaaaaaaaaaand you’re done! :) Type “exit” Trying to use Windows Media Creator to make WIN 10 USB, and it is asking me for a USB drive, but wont see the one I have because it thinks it is a DVD! it had 2 storage path and one of the storage was write protected,and the other wasn’t. used it for some time and it popped up a message -format drive and when I try formatting it pops up -unable to complete and in the format screen it shows 8gig instead of 16gig pls is there any solution? Please insert a disk into remove disk (Z:) When i try to format There is no Disk in Drive Z: Insert Disk and try again i used all instructions from experts when i open diskmanagement it is not showing any USB it is showing no media please help me i have useful data in pendrive Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 65Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 26Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 71Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 36Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 26Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 39Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 42Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 72Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 81Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 5Fix Windows  Unable to Complete Format on USB Flash Drive - 68